Piano 2024:   May 16th – 18st at Muttart Hall, Alberta College

Kerry Waller

Ardrossan, AB

2018 Shean Piano Competition Winner Élisabeth Pion.

Kerry Waller began his piano studies at the age of five under Wolfram Linnebach. Later, while at the University of Alberta under the instruction of Jacques Després, he was the winner of the 2013 University of Alberta Concerto Competition and the Ernesto B. Lejano Scholarship. This award led to his invitation to perform with the University of Alberta Symphony Orchestra at the Winspear Center in Edmonton. In 2014, he was awarded the Grand Prize at the Canadian Music Competition which included a performance with the Québec Symphony Orchestra at the Palais Montcalm in Québec City.

Mr. Waller was the recipient of the 2016 Hnatyshyn Foundation Developing Artists Classical Piano Grant and in the same year, studied at the Meadowmount School of Music under Eric Larsen and participated in master classes with Markus Schirmer and Boris Berman at the International Summer Academy of the University of Music and Performing Arts, Vienna. Mr. Waller has also participated in master classes with Joseph Fridman, Dennis Lee, Alan Chow, Sara Davis Buechner, Ann Schein, Dmitri Vorobiev, Christiane Karajeva and David Jalbert. After completing his undergraduate degree in Piano Performance under Paul Stewart at the University of Montréal in the Spring of this year, he performed the Tchaikovsky piano concerto with the Montréal Sinfonia Ensemble at Pollack Hall in Montréal.

Mr. Waller is currently pursuing a Guildhall Artist Masters in piano performance under Katya Apekisheva and Ronan O’Hora at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London, UK thanks to the support from the Winspear, Shean and Anne Burrows Foundations.

2018 Piano Competitors

Elisabeth Pion Bryn Blackwood David Potvin Karnsiri Laothamatas Kerry Waller Nicole Linaksita

Important Information